Risk

And then the day came,
when the risk
to remain tight
in a bud
was more painful
than the risk
it took
to blossom.

Anais Nin

The topic I’ve wanted to blog about for so, so long – muslim women, marriage and the turning upside down of all that we’ve grown up being massaged into buying by the many things we’ve read, watched, drooled over, eavesdropped on and imagined can be summed up almost perfectly in the above poem.

I want to write so much on this topic (on which I’ve read so many sister bloggers weigh in but on which I’ve never found that I’m in agreement with any of them) but I’m sure I’ll become verbose so I’ll succintly just state my thesis:  A good man is not at all hard to find – if you take the risk of opening your good heart.

I hope to write more on this as I’m often running into the opposite of the sentiment I just wrote.

yellow-flower1

