I snatched some time from this unbelievably busy month to moon-gaze tonight from my uncurtained living room window so high up close to the sky and this is what I found:

“The most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched, they must be felt with the heart…” Helen Keller

The moon was almost full. The clouds were busily rushing past – they had places to go and rain upon. And the moon shone on… only it appeared sometimes to be dull behind the rush of clouds sweeping by…but it still shone on.

I thought of the moon and the Prophet’s face of light (peace be upon him). I thought of the moon amidst the incredibly environmental and profoundly important messages in the Qur’an. I realized that the moon was a signifier of God’s immense mercy to us humans – a means by which to measure the time He granted each one of us to use in the pursuit of the good, of His pleasure.

The time He granted us to shine on – even when dulled by the rush.

And only He allows us to feel these beautiful things in the heart. That is a great mercy indeed.

