The ABSOLUTE cutest thing I have – maybe ever – seen in my teaching career totally took me out of the slump described in my previous post (well, almost totally). Allah is merciful. So I’m going ahead with my song-writing attempt “The Ten Days of Dhul-Hijjah*”.

*Dhul-Hijjah: the final month of the Islamic Calendar. On the 10th of this month, the three day celebration of Eid-ul Adha begins.

But first, The Absolute Cutest Thing

Picture 6 seven year old boys trying to breakdance all over the place. Practicing for their entry into our class talent show next week, they had no clear leader/choreographer – each one of them wanted to be the boss. Arms were flailing into other faces while doing windmills, feet were stamping down dangerously close to fingers and arguments were breaking out all over the place. As I sighed and began to walk over from the classroom (they were in the hall), the A.C.T. happened. Out of the blue, really suddenly, they formed a circle. And then one of them said the magic words (“Okay guys, let’s calm down..” He, obviously, was the one who clearly deserved to be the boss) and in unison, they began DEEP BREATHING. I was frozen with euphoria – I had taught them this technique to calm down during conflict at the beginning of the year and I had thought they had totally forgotten it. Some of them had their eyes closed, two were holding hands, all had their legs crossed yoga-style and the boss was saying real serenely, “in through the nose and out through the mouth.” They had no idea I was watching a highlight of my teaching years, from a distance. IN THE MIDDLE OF BREAKDANCING, THEY DID YOGA. And they went on to solve it all by themselves. How cute is that?

I think this one tops my session on princesses with last year’s boys.

This deserves a song…The Ten Days of Dhul-Hijjah (sung to the tune of The Twelve Days of Christmas)

On the first day of Dhul-Hijjah, my True Love gave to me, a lawyer in the family (every family should have their very own.)

On the second day of Dhul-Hijjah, my True Love gave to me, 2 kids who eat peas (they like broccoli too.)

On the third day of Dhul-Hijjah, my True Love gave to me, 3 funny siblings (they laugh really hard before they say the funny parts. So it’s really clear that it’s going to be funny. Isn’t that nice of them?)

On the fourth day of Dhul-Hijjah, my True Love gave to me, 4 days ’til I host Eid (and have no idea who to call, what to make, where to host but I DO know what I’ll wear.)

On the fifth day of Dhul-Hijjah, my True Love gave to me, 5 friends who’ll do pot-luck (I’m sure I can round up 5. At least?)

On the sixth day of Dhul-Hijjah, my True Love gave to me, 6 b-boys doing yoga (deep breathing works for hosting Eid parties as well.)

On the seventh day of Dhul-Hijjah, my True Love gave to me, 7 cents a minute (to call my mom in Madinah for her lamb biryani recipe.)

On the eighth day of Dhul-Hijjah, my True Love gave to me, 8 cents a minute (to call my mom in Makkah for her roasted rosemary-lime chicken recipe.)

On the ninth day of Dhul-Hijjah, my True Love gave to me, 9 planets above (.)

On the tenth day of Dhul-Hijjah, my True Love gave to me, 10 cm of snow on Sunday (drats, now I’ll just HAFTA go last minute Eid present shopping again.)

Now for some real talent, here’s that old favorite, The Twelve Days of Indian Christmas:

