Had my dose of halo-lightedness at Taraweeh’ tonight, alhamdulillah. On to the day at school…

Was offered 2 food treats from students (from other classes) celebrating their birthdays and like the eager-beaver I am, I started glowing and clasping my hands to begin my spiel on why I had to say no thank you at this time (well, actually, I would have said no thank you at any time as I don’t eat sugar [I’ve been drug-free for a long time now]).

I have to say that my Ramadan khutbah was received quite well by a child dangling a box of donuts and another holding out a piece of cake. They went away a little bit more spiritually aware, I’m sure. 😉

I did miss my running though. I run 2 miles 4 to 6 days a week (I’m almost ready for the 5K! But one of my life list friends beat me to it – she’s running hers on Sept. 30.)

But, good news on that front: I read that Ali Eteraz has access to a workout plan for Ramadan. The things they think up! (and the things that makes me happy!)

My goals this Ramadan include attending Taraweeh’ every night and waking for Tahajudd on the weekends insha’Allah. My other spiritual goals have been carefully recorded in a cute book with a butterfly on the cover. Why I wrote this fact, I know not.

Tomorrow I will read the students a book on Ramadan. Then they will try some dates. They have already sampled apples with honey today to mark Rosh Hashanah. Next week they will do a venn diagram comparing Ramadan and Rosh Hashanah. The joys of teaching in a multicultural milieu!

Yes, yes I’m excited about Ramadan.

