Patrick Doyle is my favourite composer. His music combines such diverse elements – from celtic to indian to operatic – in a fluid and original way. His version of this melancholy 17th century ayre by John Dowland is unforgettable.

Weep You No More Sad Fountaines by John Dowland

Weep you no more, sad fountains;
What need you flow so fast?
Look how the snowy mountains
Heav’n’s sun doth gently waste.
But my sun’s heav’nly eyes
View not your weeping
That now lies sleeping,
Softly, softly, now softly lies sleeping.

Sleep is a reconciling,
A rest that Peace begets.
Doth not the sun rise smiling
When fair at e’en he sets
Rest you then, rest, sad eyes,
Melt not in weeping
while she lies sleeping,
Softly, softly, now softly lies sleeping.

Another of his compositions I love is the fusion music he set to “Kindle my Heart” from A Little Princess.

Kindle My Heart

As the moon kindles the night
As the wind kindles the fire
As the rain fills every ocean
And the sun, the earth
With your heart, kindle my heart

Take my heart
Take my heart
Kindle it with your heart
And my heart
Cannot be
Kindled without you
With your heart
Kindle my heart

I’m going to try to update later with audio samples. But the words are more than beautiful as well…

